Each category has a specific and unique set of criteria based against five key elements.

  • Ambition - The challenge and context within which your project, person or organisation is set alongside your goals and targets whether quantitative or qualitative.
  • Outcome - The benefits realised from the point of view of patients, organisation, leadership, value creation, efficiencies and cost.
  • Spread - The dissemination of your success in terms of how your work has been picked up and replicated elsewhere.
  • Value - The creation of value from the point of view of patient satisfaction and experience, reduction in bureaucracy, time saved for staff at any level.
  • Involvement - The stakeholders buy-in and contribution toward the project initiatives and outcomes. How have the relevant staff, patients and partnerships worked together to realise the success?

2021 Awards categories

(click on each section to learn more about each category)

Acute or Specialist Trust of the Year
Award Partner
  • *
‚ÄčAcute Sector Innovation of the Year
Chief Executive of the Year
Clinical Leader of the Year
Connecting Services and Information Award
Digitising Patient Services Initiative
Driving Efficiency through Technology Award
Environmental Sustainability Award
Freedom to Speak up Organisation of the Year
Award Partner
  • *
Health and Local Government Partnership Award
HSJ Partnership Award
Integrated Care System of the Year
Mental Health Innovation of the Year
Mental Health Trust of the Year
Military and Civilian Health Partnership Award
Award Partner
  • *
  • *
NHS Communications Initiative of the Year Award
NHS Race Equality Award
Award Partner
  • *
Patient Safety Award
Primary Care Innovation of the Year
Primary care networks, GP or Community Provider of the Year
Award Partner
  • *
New Category
Provider Collaboration of the Year
Staff Engagement Award
System Led Support for Carers Award
Award Partner
  • *
Workforce Initiative of the Year